So, we’re officially over half way through the year, I really don’t know how that has happened?? June seemed to whizz by, although I did manage to get in some great reads:

I’m trying to add a few more classics into my reading mix, and the Agatha Christie I picked up this month, along with Brave New World were brilliant, I really recommend them. Lyrebird was my first Cecelia Ahern novel and although pleasant, I’m not sure I will read another, her story-telling style is just not for me. Also Perfume – what a twisted, unique read! A real highlight of the month for me.

I also popped along to the Emerald Street Literary Festival this month (the beautiful venue is pictured below), which I loved, and heard wonderful talks by Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent and two of the Bailey’s Prize shortlisted authors, Naomi Alderman, author of The Power (who went on to actually win the prize) and Ayobami Adebayo, who wrote Stay With Me. This was my first literary festival and I’m going to be on the look out for more, as I just loved everything about it – from meeting other book-lovers, to the relaxed atmosphere of the day and the author’s insights.

emerald-street-literary-festival-decoration

I have had quite a few review requests come through this month, so I am looking forward to cracking on with those in July and trying some new and exciting reads, so won’t list any specifics here, as I’m going to see what takes my fancy through the month.

As always, I will keep you posted. Hope July is a great reading month for you!

