Lyrebird by Cecelia Ahern

Opening sentence: “Are you sure you should be driving?”

I picked this up on a recent trip to Dublin, as I wanted get a book by an Irish author while I was there and had never read Cecelia Ahern before. Also, I was intrigued by the Lyrebird plot line and beautiful cover.

The Lyrebird of the title refers to Laura Button, a beautiful 26-year old who is intensely in tune with sounds and has an incredible talent for mimicry – just like the actual Lyrebird. She is brought up in isolation on a mountain in Cork and when her path serendipitously crosses with that of a documentary film crew, her life changes forever.

Bo, Rachel and Solomon have never met someone as intriguing as Laura and want to tell her story. Unfortunately, this leads to a part of the plot that revolves around one of my most disliked things – the TV talent show. Bo, the producer, decides it would be great for Laura to show off her mimicry talent and raise her profile for the documentary by entering StarrQuest, Ireland’s premier TV talent show.

Cue the plot from this point centring around that and my interest waning… coupled with the fact I could see what was coming and just kind of wanted the characters to get there quicker. When they finally did, it was heart-warming and although the above may sound a little harsh, I did enjoy reading this book. It was effortlessly written and did draw me in – initially.

The reason I had never read a Cecelia Ahern book before was the romantic / rom-com genre element, as that’s not really my preferred type. I was hoping this one might prove me wrong but nope, sadly not. I can fully see how other people would really enjoy this book, but it just wasn’t really for me.

Rating: 3/5

 

